School of Physics and Astronomy

Search site

Latest news

1851 Industry Fellowship

1 October 2015

Congratulations to Devesh Mistry, a postgraduate student in the School who has been awarded the prestigious 1851 Industrial Fellowship.

This is an incredible achievement for Devesh as only 8 awards are presented each year to first class graduates in Science, Engineering or Medicine.

Devesh, who is funded by the EPSRC, is using novel new liquid crystalline materials to develop a synthetic replacement for the crystalline lens of the eye to mitigate age-related deterioration of vision. The aim is for the focus of the lens to be controlled by the muscles in the eye, in a similar manner to the natural young lens. The developed lens could be surgically implanted to offer an accommodative effect similar to the young eye.

Inspired by a desire to work at the frontiers of technology, Devesh graduated with a 1st class MPhys degree from the University of Oxford in 2014. He is now beginning the second year of his PhD at the University of Leeds. His research is collaborative with the University of Manchester and is sponsored by UltraVision CLPL, a company specialising in advanced contact lenses.

Devesh will be presented with the award on 14th October in London, by Jo Johnson, the newly appointed Minister for Universities and Science.

Planet-hosting star gives up its innermost secrets

15 September 2015

Astronomers have successfully peered through the ‘amniotic sac’ of a star that is still forming to observe the innermost region of a burgeoning solar system for the first time

In a research paper published in the journal Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, an international team of astronomers describe surprising findings in their observations of the parent star, which is called HD 100546. Emission from the innermost part of the disk of gas that surrounds the central star has been detected for the first time. Unexpectedly, this emission is similar to that of ‘barren’ young stars that do not show any signs of active planet formation.

HD 100546 is a young star (only a thousandth of the age of the Sun) surrounded by a disk-shaped structure of gas and dust, called a ‘proto-planetary disk’, in which planets can form. Such disks are common around young stars, but the one around HD 100546 is very peculiar: if the star were placed at the centre of our Solar System, the outer part of the disk would extend up to around ten times the orbit of Pluto.

Lead author of the research paper Dr Ignacio Mendigutía and a co-author, Professor Rene Oudmaijer, both from the School of Physics and Astronomy at Leeds, believe that these observations of the inner disk of gas in the HD 100546 system, are beginning to help us to understand the earliest life of planet-hosting stars on a scale that is comparable to our Solar System.

Read more…

The image shows an artist's impression ofthe star called HD 100546 (shown in blue, bottom-right). The gravitational influence of a planet could be boosting a transfer of material from the gas-rich outer part of the proto-planetary disk that surrounds the star to the inner regions.

Credit: David Cabezas Jimeno (SEA)


10 September 2015

The School of Physics and Astronomy will be hosting the Quantum Information Processing and Communication (QIPC2015), an international conference, from 13-18th September. The conference will bring together researchers from all aspects of Quantum Information Science.

The conference kicks off on Sunday with a registration for all delegates and will run through to the end of the week, closing on Friday 18th September. Dr Almut Beige from the School is Chairing the conference, which will include plenary talks from high profile speakers in the field, poster sessions and other contributed talks by delegates. Please visit the QIPC website for further details and programme information -

IoP conference presentation

10 September 2015

Dr Lorna Dougan from the Molecular & Nanoscale Physics group recently gave a talk at the Institute of Physics Conference at Manchester.

Dr Dougan's talk covered 'Single molecule studies of proteins from extremophile organisms', which is relevant to Dougan's current field of research.

The conference is taking place from 8-10 September and includes a host of speakers in Physical aspects of polymer science.

More information about the conference can be found here.

Undergraduate Award Success

4 September 2015

Congratulations to Adam Newman, a BSc student in Physics, who has been named as a Highly Commended Entrant in The Undergraduate Awards.

Adam’s paper performed in the top 10% of the 2015 programme. Adam has been shortlisted and is to be announced as one of the 50 winners of the award, identifying Adam as an outstanding student at the international level.

The School of Physics and Astronomy would like to congratulate Adam on this fantastic achievement.

Displaying results 26 to 30 out of 98